Independence Day 5k!

I completed my first 5k this morning with a totally respectable time of 29:19 (7th in my age group), Don was a bit faster with a time of 24:25 (6th in his age group), and while neither of us were quick enough to earn a medal- there were a handful of runners who made it to the finish line in about 18 minutes!!! Wow!- we had a fun time. After the race, Don made us a celebratory breakfast of pancakes and iced coffees.

Us
Here we are at the finish! Sweaty and red-faced like a redneck at a barbecue!

ListMy plan for the race was to find a pace I could maintain until the finish, and, after hearing that my 10-year-old niece, Kiera, who is part of a Girls on the Run group, recently ran her first 5k in less than 45 minutes, I made that my goal too. I got a little caught up in the excitement of running a real live race with so many other real live people, and after the crowd thinned out as we moved away from the starting line, I was running Medalsat a pace that was too fast for me to maintain for 3.1 miles. Luckily my Polar heart rate monitor helps remind me to pace myself, and I settled in to a more comfortable speed. When I was close enough to the finish to see the time clock, I was amazed to see that it hadn’t yet reached the thirty minute mark, and Don was there to cheer me through the finish line!

 

Don, having a post-run stretch.
Don, having a post-run stretch.
Patriotic pancakes with blueberries and strawberries.
Patriotic pancakes with blueberries and strawberries.
Better than Dunkin'
Better than Dunkin’

 

Leave a Reply

