Variety is the Spice of Life

IMG_3566

My Granny once told me that variety is the spice of life, and, although at that point she was referring to my dating life, I think her advice applies to all aspects of life, especially fitness. Having some variety insures that things don’t get stale and we remain interested in fitness and it also means that we are more likely to work our entire bodies so that we have better overall fitness and achieve our goals faster. Good advice, Gran, thanks!

Lately, as you may have noticed, I’ve been doing an absurdly disgusting amount of running which means I’ve been a little lax in doing other forms of fitness. This is partly because I have other things to do during the day besides hang out at the gym, partly because I feel that if I’m torturing myself by running distances of greater than a mile at a frequency of more than twice a month I should get to have a little bit of a break from everything else, and partly because I’m worried about the risk of doing a serious leg session (squats, extensions, curls, raises, presses…) the day after or before a run day or on any day when my legs feel a little sore from running. When I’m running three days a week, it’s hard to find a day that doesn’t fall into any of those categories.

I’ve been trying to make sure I don’t let my upper body strength fall by the wayside in the midst of all this running and also to make sure I’m maintaining flexibility, which I know with every fiber of my being will help ward off running injuries and make me a better runner overall. In addition to the normal weightlifting, using a Neila Rey prescribed workout when I can’t make it to the gym, and keeping loose with Adriene’s yoga, I’ve also been mixing things up with a new circuit training/TABATA class at the gym. I was heartbroken when the spinning class I enjoyed so much got bumped to 7:00pm this winter and then was cancelled entirely, but this circuit training class makes up for it a little bit.

This class is a full body workout and usually consists of nine different stations that are done for three rounds of fifty seconds each (with a little rest in between each round NOT (as I had hoped on day one) between each station), and then a final speed round of thirty seconds for each station. The total time for the entire class (with breaks and instruction time) is slightly less than one hour, and I’m pretty tired and very sweaty when its over. These are the BEST workouts in the shortest amount of time and could easily be tailored to be done just about anywhere with no equipment other than your smokin’ hot body. I really love these classes and am grateful when my schedule allows me to attend one, and I highly recommend checking to see if your gym offers them. They are the ultimate quick and dirty- don’t let the 50 seconds for each station lure you into underestimating these workouts, you’ll work hard but you’ll also be finished with your exercise and resuming your regularly scheduled programming in less time than it takes to watch an episode of Game of Thrones.

An update of this week’s running: We are two weeks away from my March 28th deadline! I managed to stay hydrated and feeling fine all week, and Don joined me for a long 6 miles yesterday morning. We had a pretty good pace (6 miles in 63 minutes), and I enjoyed having Don’s company but was kind of annoyed that he was always a little ahead of me and still seemed fresh at the end of the run when he had been out late with his friends the night before and was a little hungover, and I had gone to bed early and drank nothing but water and tea all week. Some guys have all the luck!

Leave a Reply

