Spinning and Sinning

Last weekend we took a short road trip to Vaduz, Liechtenstein to poke around and get a brief change of scenery, and, on the way back home, we succumbed to the call of Fast Food. It wasn’t an easy decision to make, but it was 3:00 in the afternoon, we were still about two hours from home, we desperately needed lunch, and there, like a beckoning angel on the side of the autobahn, were those golden arches. Desperate times call for desperate measures.

I had some fries (if you’re going to cheat on your diet, go big or go home, am I right?), a Morrocan Vegetable wrap, and a soda. Eating an unhealthy treat every now and again isn’t a sin- this is not the first time I’ve veered off the course of healthy eating, and it most assuredly will not be the last- the sin is that the food didn’t even taste good. Not only was it not healthy, but it also wasn’t a treat. Being conscientious, I try to save up my ‘splurge’ calories for the good stuff (Ben & Jerry’s, greasy pizza dripping with cheese, Girl Scout Cookies, stinky gorgonzola, a nice, dark beer…I could go on but I’m making myself hungry), but these fries were cold and needed salt, the wrap tasted like salad dressing, and the soda, well, I just don’t really like soda. The meal was a big disappointment from start to finish.

Since I don’t frequently eat fast food, I fell into a half-conscious food coma and dozed the rest of the way home with the feeling in my stomach that I had just eaten a bucket of cement that was now solidifying. Perhaps it was Don’s plan all along to sedate me with greasy carbohydrates so he could drive home without my dispensing helpful driving tips; if so, it was a brilliantly executed plan. In order to try to counter the effects of the McDonalds, we ate a fresh, cleansing salad of beets and crisp spring greens for dinner that night.

Not really lovin' it.
Not really lovin’ it.

Earlier in the week, I participated in a spinning class for the very first time. This was a Core Spin class that combined work on the spin bike with some abs exercises at the end, and the class was INTENSE. I thoroughly enjoyed myself, but it was hard to keep up with some of the regulars who were there. At only an hour long, the class is a fabulous way to get in a good (no, great!) workout in a short amount of time.

Don accompanied me so that he could say encouraging things like “your face is really red right now” and “no, actually it’s purple.” Despite the fact that it took every bit of concentration to force my legs to pedal up our last ‘hill’ and I was so sweaty my hair looked as if I had just showered (umm…gross), the class was super fun. I liked the communal/competitive atmosphere of working out alongside others and it was refreshing to do something different from my normal routine and be following a set of instructions given by someone who could see if you were putting in effort or not. Jamie Eason never had a clue if I shirked the last set of push-ups, but spin instructor Sarah could totally see if I was doing the 20 second sprints or not, and having the extra motivation of not looking like a lazy couch surfer in front of a super-fit spin instructor was honestly the only thing that got me through the last twenty minutes of the class. The next time I have a Wednesday afternoon free, I am going to go back; a little spinning can certainly balance the effects of some dietary sinning!

 

Leave a Reply

