Weekend Warrior

Probably most people find that they have MORE time to hit up the gym on the weekends, but I am the opposite. During the week, my days are carefully scheduled (heads-up, control freak alert!) and I allow enough time to walk my dog, hit up the gym, and take a post-workout shower (in the not-so-clean looking gym showers, but whatever, I just make sure not to touch the walls or floor) before I head off to work, but weekends are different. Weekends are for lounging in bed with your kitty cat. Weekends are for taking a leisurely ride on your horse because you aren’t trying to rush so that you can make it to the gym before work. Weekends are for having spontaneous gelato dates with your friends; they are for lounging in the early spring sun on your back porch while reading your Kindle, and for staying up late to watch a movie. Generally, weekends are for having blissfully unscheduled free time and doing whatever you want- as long as it doesn’t involve putting on ‘real’ pants or make-up.

When the weather is not so gloriously spring-like (temps were in the high sixties all weekend long and the sun was out full-force), I try to drag myself to the gym for a quick workout on Sunday mornings, but I couldn’t make myself spend the time inside away from the sun this weekend, and, since my quads were still twanging from a pretty intense legs workout on Friday, I didn’t have the motivation to go for a run or do a Neila Rey workout either. I felt a little guilty about this, but upon doing a weekend recap, I realized that even though I didn’t do a structured, officially sanctioned “this is exercise I’m doing right now- hey, everybody, I’m doing exercises and they have names and target specific body parts and I can log them on my bodybuilding.com app” workout, I still did a fair amount of exercise.

Saturday morning started with a quick trip by bike into the city center to run a few errands. The bike ride back to my apartment involves going up a big hill which my twanging quads were not too pleased with. Then, most of Saturday was focused around yard work; I pulled a few weeds and planted my kale seeds (if all of the seeds I planted actually grow, I’ll be stuffing kale in my neighbors’ mailboxes to get rid of it, I really hope they all grow!), swept off the patio, inspected the buds on the cherry trees, and critiqued Don’s lawn mowing efforts. Saturday night, we had dinner plans with some friends at a restaurant overlooking all of Amberg from the top of an enormous hill, and we opted to walk (another hill!). Sunday, I had a nice ride with my equine buddy, I think he was really grateful for the perfect weather too, and did a little more yard work, chased Jack around with his toy and biked into town and back once again (that hill!) for a gelato date with my friend.

In hindsight, although I never actually set out with the intention of exercising, I did quite a bit of it. This was a good reminder that beneficial exercise can be found in everyday activities if I just remember to pick the better option; certainly we could have driven to dinner at the top of that overgrown hill/undersized mountain, but walking the 60+ flights up was healthier (and eliminated the guilt of rewarding myself with a tasty kristallweizen), and while I wasn’t doing intense cardio when working in the garden, I was at least moving around and not resting on my laurels watching the world go by (I did that after, while Don was mowing the lawn). This is good to keep in mind because now that the weather is perking up and there is more to actually DO on the weekends, I will be less motivated to drive to the gym and go inside, but that doesn’t mean that I will be shirking my duties. As long as I opt to walk to dinner or spend the afternoon on the seat of my bike instead of my patio chair, I’ll still be getting enough exercise. This is something we can all keep in mind as Spring reaches across the Northern Hemisphere; just because we aren’t on a treadmill doesn’t mean we aren’t being healthy!

These guys get it!: 

 

Leave a Reply

