Weeks 5 & 6

Before I got all worked up about the addition of cardio to the workouts, I probably should have read more thoroughly through the daily weightlifting programs. Jaime really stepped up the exercises… I think she might be trying to kill us.

Jokes aside, the intensity of the workouts caught me a little off guard and I actually looked forward to the cardio at the end because it meant that I had made it through another workout! I mean seriously, seventy push-ups in one day!!!??? I could have cried; I might actually have been, but it was hard to tell with the sweat dripping in my eyes.

The good part is that it all got easier in week 6. I will confess that about half way through the pushups during week 5, I had to give a little and finish them on my knees instead of toes, but I managed to struggle through the next week. I am still enjoying the variety of the prescribed workouts and the fact that I do not have to come up with my own ideas. I’m also really digging the changes I am seeing and feeling in my body.

The changes are subtle, I don’t look like Gisele Bundchen or even the 24 year-old version of myself for that matter, but I am looking a little less doughy and feeling about a million times better: more energetic and more comfortable in my own body. Crotch biscuits aside, I am looking pretty good in my leggings!

I did step on the scale at the end of week 4 and was pretty disappointed to not see much change, but I cheered up when I reminded myself that my clothes were fitting more loosely. Maybe I should think of this less of a weight loss situation and more of a weight exchange situation where I trade useless flabby weight for useful muscle.

I glanced ahead at the upcoming week and it gets more intense; I cringe to think what Phase 3 might look like, but let’s save those worries for later. I have another (super-fun) interruption coming up at the end of the week. I am headed to New Orleans for the wedding of a dear college friend, and while I will have a fantastic time, as you know, weddings can be dangerous for those who are counting their calories. My friend has great taste, so I know the food will be irresistible, and it will be a whirlwind four days involving two flights across the Atlantic, so I also know I will not have time to use the hotel gym, but I’m not going to sweat it because Jamie Eason will be ready to work my little legs off when I return. So, friends, I will enjoy myself and eat a beignet or two, have some beers with old pals and work extra hard the following week.

Leave a Reply

